Top 10 Favourite Books/Series!

Okay! So, I’ve had to think about which books I would call my favourites for a while now, and I tried to pick just ten, I really did, but when you have roughly around 50 favourites — probably more. It’s an obsession, I tell ya– it becomes increasingly difficult to pick just a few — or ten. But, I thought really hard and I have come up with ten of my favourite books from my long list of favourite books to feature as my top ten favourites. Okay? Okay.

1.The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. (Series)The hunger games cover

This series was the one that re-kindled my burning love of books after a two year break from reading. The Hunger Games stole my heart and smashed into a thousand pieces at times but you know what? It was worth the pain and I am proud to say that I am a huge fan (I feel like “huge fan” is an understatement but I find that I’m unable to put into words how I feel about this series so I’ll leave it at that).

2. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. (Series) *Reviews to come.

Books in this series: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows.

I bought the first three books late last year and didn’t get around to Throne of Glassreading them until February this year- the problems of having an endless TBR pile: having too many books and not getting through them fast enough- and it was one of those occasions when I just wanted to bitch-slap past me and tell her to go “read ToG now it’s so good, read it read it read it!!”   Again, this is one of those books that breaks your heart, fixes it, and repeats. Again. And again. It’s a literary rollercoaster of the best kind. The writing is so beautiful and gripping and again, I don’t think I can ever put how I feel about this series into words and do it justice. If you haven’t picked this series up yet, I strongly- very, very strongly- suggest you do that. Celaena is one of my absolute favourite book characters ever- she’s so strong and independent. And also: Chaol Westfall. Enough said.

The Wrath and the dawn

3. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. *Review here.

I read this book a couple weeks after it was released in May this year and it fast became my favourite book of this year so far. It is one of those books that stays with you even after you’ve long since finished it; everything is so well described, its like you can see the characters and the scenery in front of you. It all becomes very real and the characters become as dear to you as close friends.  Shahrzad is yet another of my favourite characters and her story is so gripping and utterly enthralling. This is a beautiful new take on A Thousand and One Nights and I highly recommend it. The sequel, The Rose and the Daggercannot come soon enough!

4.  Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. *Review to come. Fangirl

Yet another book that I have read this year, Fangirl took me completely by surprise. I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did. The characters were all so relatable and fun- I loved them all! I found myself literally laughing out loud at times, but it was also extremely moving at others. The writing is absolutely magical and encapsulated perfectly what it is like to be an awkward fangirl put into a new and unfamiliar environment- I related so much to a lot of how Cath thought and acted, being an awkward fangirl myself.

5.  Obsidian (The Lux Series) by Jennifer L Armentrout.  Obsidian

Books in this series: Obsidian, Onyx, Opal, Origin, Opposition.

This was actually the series that made me want to start a book blog. Katy, the main character, has a book blog and it sparked an idea in my head. I hadn’t considered blogging or even posting reviews publically before reading this series. I just tended to tell people how much I loved the books, but this way just sounded so fun- interacting with other book fans and showing your love of books to the world, convincing people to read your favourite books and helping your favourite authors gain the recognition they deserve.  But that’s not all I love about this series- there is action, romance, Daemon Black, hot aliens (yep. HOT ALIENS). And the way that it is all told and wound together is nothing short of spectacular. I have now made it my life’s mission to read every Jennifer L. Armentrout book available.

6. Hidden Wings by Cameo Renae (series) *Reviews to come.Hidden Wings

Books in this series: Hidden Wings, Descent, Broken wings, Tethered Wings, Gilded Wings.

I. Love. This. Series. So much. Lots and lots. Bordering on mild obsession lots. I read the first two books back in 2013 along with the novella Descent. And for weeks I could think of nothing else other than, “I need the next book. I need to know what happens!” It was torture. So when the last two books were released last year- in march and december- I jumped on the chance to read them. I stayed up until exactly 12:00 in the morning when they were available to download on kindle and then stayed up for a further 2 hours reading. And then i got up and 5:00 in the morning to carry on. All on a school night. Its safe to say my performance at school was less than stellar on that day, but it was worth it. I loved every single character in this series. Emma, the Guardians (especially Kade and Dominic and Malachi. Sigh.)…they were all so badass and amazing and funny. This is another one of those stories that is an emotional rollercoaster ( especially that last book. Tears were shed, guys. Tears were shed) and this one was especially…rollercoasty? Yeah.  My love for these books has grown so much that I even have a Hidden Wings hoodie. I wear it all the time- it’s super comfy; I love it. And I just found out that there will be a book 5!!! *Insert crazy fangirl squeal*

7. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey (series)*Review to comeThe 5th Wave

Books in this series: The 5th Wave, The Infinite Sea (already released), The Last Star (out next year).

This book holds a special place in my heart as the first ever sci-fi book I read. The first of many. From the first page I was hooked and my little anti alien brain was confuzzled. What was it doing? It couldn’t possibly be LIKING this book with unrealistic aliens in, surely. But it was, and my anti alien brain became obsessed, and decided that aliens were the bomb.com. So I fell in love with this book,- it is phenomenal- with sci-fi, with Cassie and Evan and then I made my mum read it,because I needed someone to discuss everything that happened in this book with. This is a book that demands to be discussed. I am SO looking forward to the film and last book out next year!

8. Soulmates by Holly Bourne. *Review to come

Soulmates

I read this book last year and I still don’t think I’m over it now. It was stunning, absolutely beautiful and spectacular. It was funny, romantic, and moving, and the ending was an unexpected twist but still lovely and I really felt that it was necessary- that people need to read at least one book like this in their lifetime. The ending was real, not unrealistic the way that people have come to expect. I loved that there was some explanation and science involved with the soulmates, not just a ‘here you go, these people are soulmates, just accept that without an explanation’ type of thing. I’d definitely recommend this book for anyone looking for a swoony romance with a little bit of a twist.

9. Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick (series)Hush Hush

Books in this series: Hush Hush, Crescendo, Silence, Finale.

I had the honour of meeting Becca Fitzpatrick last year for her Black Ice tour, where she signed my copy of Hush Hush for me. That book has now become one of prized possessions. Patch was one of the first fictional people that I fell completely in love with (another problem of being a fangirl: loving people who’ll never exist. *cries*) and was the first of many, many book boyfriends.

10. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  The Fault in Our Stars

You know you’ve read a good book when it leaves you clutching it to your chest at 1:00 in the morning, eyes swollen from hours of ugly crying. That’s exactly what happened when I read TFIOS for the first time. I cried for hours. And then when I woke up, I decided to repeat the process by re-reading. My eyes hurt. I’m a huge fan of John Green; I’d even read his grocery lists 😉

These are just a few of my favourite books. I have many, many more. There will be another of these posts at the end of the year- my favourite books of 2015 😀

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Favourite Books/Series!

Leave a Reply

