Favourite Books · Top Tens

My Top Books of 2015

Hey guys! ๐Ÿ™‚

So, as 2015 comes to an end, I thought it would be a lot of fun to look back at all of my favourite books of this year. If I’m completely honest, I didn’t really read as much in 2015 as I did in 2014, thanks to a huge reading slump that lasted around 3 months (it’s over now though so YAY for lots of reading!). BUT, the books that I did read were great, and a lot have them have fast become favourites. SO, no particular order, here are my top books read in 2015!:

The entire Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas up to the most recent installment, Queen of Shadows.

Throne of GlassCrown of MidnightHeir of FireQueen of Shadows

This stands as my absolute favourite fantasy series to date, and I don’t think it’s going to be beaten any time soon! Sarah J. Maas creates a world so enticing and wonderful, and her characters so real and strong (and GORGEOUS *cough* ChaolDorianRowan *cough*). If you haven’t picked this series up yet, then I highly recommend you do it.

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses, also by Sarah J. Maas.

A Court of Thorns and Roses

You may have noticed that there is a slight pattern here. Another book by Sarah J. Maas in my favourite books of 2015 (and probably every year after in which she releases a new book). This is because her writing is absolutely amazing. A Court of Thorns and Roses is a spectacular opening to what is sure to be another whirlwind of a series and I seriously CANNOT WAIT for the sequel,ย A Court of Mist and Fury!

 

Magonia byย Maria Dahvana Headley.

Magonia

Magonia was undoubtedly one of the most unique and imaginative books I have ever read. The world and characters were perfectly built and developed. The characters were all so lovable and funny and unique in their own rights.

*You can see my review for Magonia here!

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir.

An Ember in the Ashes

I absolutely adored this book. It broke my heart, mended it, then repeated. Several times. This is definitely a book that will stay in your mind long, long after you’ve finished reading it, and will leave you wanting more. I seriously can’t wait for the sequel, A Torch Against the Night!

*You can see my review of An Ember in the Ashes here!

 

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh.

The Wrath and the dawn

The Wrath and the Dawn still stands as my absolute favourite book of 2015. It was amazing. Renee Ahdieh created a sensational world, with fantastic characters, and plot and culture, and the descriptions of everything are just exquisite. I loved Shahrzad, she is one of my favourite fictional characters – so strong, smart and witty. And Khalid, but don’t get me started on him, or we’ll be here all day! :D.

After writing this, I found that I REALLY wanted to re-read so I’ve just bought the audiobook to listen to. This is why I have no money ๐Ÿ˜‰

*You can see my review of The Wrath and the Dawn here!

 

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Fangirl

Fangirl was one of the most relatable, funny, cute books I have ever read. Rainbow Rowell has created a masterpiece with Fangirl – I absolutely LOVED it! I can honestly say that I have never related to a fictional character more than I did with Cath, and I am so thankful for her and her story.

 

 

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything

Everything, Everything was a book quite like nothing i’d ever read before. It was romantic, funny, and sad at times, but perfection all over. And it had these little illustrations on some pages that just made it shine! I’m currently writing a review for Everything, Everything and finding it very difficult to gather my thoughts, and to form a full review beyond just the words, “I loved, loved, loved it! READ IT!”

 

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae

Ok. I have a slight confession to make here. I haven’t quite finished Illuminae yet – I have about 50 or so pages – but since I read the majority of it in 2015 (and it will probably be finished before 2016 starts, because, quite frankly, I CAN’T PUT IT DOWN), I decided to go ahead and add it to my top books of 2015. I can honestly say that I. Have. Never. Ever. Read a book like this before. It is so unique and gripping and engaging and I can feel my inner fangirl coming out so I’ll stop there. But seriously. It’s SO GOOD. (UPDATE: I’ve now finished Illuminae and it. Is. Spectacular)

*All of the books that don’t have reviews yet will do soon!

So that’s it! Those are my top books of 2015. All of these books were truly, truly spectacular, and if you haven’t checked them out yet, then I highly, highly recommend you do! ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy New Year and happy reading! โค

7 thoughts on “My Top Books of 2015

    1. Ooh yes I LOVED Eleanor and Park! I can’t decide which one I like better, though. I hope to read more of Rainbow Rowell’s books this year. I love her writing!
      Cant wait for you to read Everything Everything, hope you like it! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  1. I think I loved all of these except for Magonia, which I haven’t read, and Everything, Everything, which sadly wasn’t my cup of tea. But Fangirl! Illuminae! ACOTAR O.O Pretty sure I still have book hangovers from these fantastic books. Great list!

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

