Features/Memes · Top Tens

Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read if You’re in the Mood For…

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they suggest a new theme with a list for bloggers to choose from. This week was books to read if you are in the mood for X. I couldn’t decide on one genre to fill in the blank, so I decided to show you some books from a few of my favourite genres.

Fantasy

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass

This is probably my favourite fantasy series ever – it is so imaginative and wonderful. If you’re on the lookout for an emotional roller coaster, then this is for you. 😀

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath and the dawn

The Wrath and the Dawn is a gorgeously written fantasy/retelling that should definitely be at the top of your TBR.
* You can read my review here

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley 

Magonia

Magonia was unique and beautiful and I can honestly say that I have never, ever read a book quite like this before. If you’re searching for a wild adventure unlike anything else, then this is your book.
*You can read my review here

Mystery/Thriller:

Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Don't Look Back

I LOVE Jennifer L. Armentrout’s writing and she mastered this book perfectly. Don’t Look Back is a gripping book that kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars

We Were Liars is a fabulously written book that kept me guessing and engaged until the very end. I flew through it in a single day.

Paranormal/Urban Fantasy:

Angel by L.A. Weatherly 

Angel

I read Angel quite a few years ago, and it fast became a favourite that has stuck with me all these years. In fact, just thinking about it has made me want to go re-read.

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Sweet Evil

This series is one of the most addicting ones I have ever read  – they are the kind of books that, no matter how many times you re-read, they are still as wonderful and as the first time.
*You can read my review of Sweet Evil  here

Historical:

Smuggler’s Kiss by Marie-Louise Jensen

Smuggler's Kiss

I discovered this gem a few years ago when I was scrolling through my Kindle, looking for something to read (those were the days, when my TBR didn’t stretch for MILES). I thought it sounded pretty interesting, so I read it. In a day. And could not. Stop. Thinking about it. It was amazing, and I would definitely recommend it if you’re in the mood for a historical book.

Contemporary:

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Since You've Been Gone

Since You’ve Been Gone is the perfect book to get you in the mood for summer, even in these colder months. The characters were relatable and the story was so fun – I LOVED it.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything

Everything, Everything was a moving, unique and beautiful book that still has me thinking about it now,  months after I’ve finished it.
*You can read my review here

And that’s it!

What are some of your favourite genres? Have you read any of these?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read if You’re in the Mood For…

Leave a Reply

