Features/Memes · Top Tens

Top Ten Tuesday: Bookworm Delights!

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they suggest a new theme with a list for bloggers to choose from. This week was bookworm delights. I loved this week’s theme – it was so fun!

Meeting your favourite author(s)

In 2014, I was lucky enough to meet Cassandra Clare while she was on tour for her new book, The Iron Trial, with Holly Black. I hadn’t read any of Holly Black’s books at the time, except for The Iron Trial (hopefully I will soon! I’ve heard great things), but Cassandra Clare…to say I was a huge fan is to put it lightly. I remember being in awe of these two amazing authors, and I think I said probably three or four words – which I totally regret, but I was nervous, ok – but they were both so lovely and funny. And afterwards, I’m pretty sure I went into complete fangirl meltdown, because – well, I’d said three or four words to Cassandra Clare and Holly Black! Hopefully, I get to meet them again one day – and actually say something comprehensible.

Bookish scented candles

This is a recent discovery for me, but the idea of bringing the scents described in the book to life seemed amazing. There are so many different types of bookish scented candles – characters, places, the smell of old books…Can I just buy them all?

The smell of books

I’m one of those people who, when they get a new book, smells the pages before doing anything else. I don’t know why, but I just love the smell of books. I love walking into a bookshop or library filled with the smell of old and new books. I think I might need one of these book scented candles.

Talking to other bookish people

There is something about connecting with people over a shared love of books, be it a certain book or series, or just books in general. I love finishing a good book and gushing with other fans, or discussing my favourite books with someone, and recommending them.

Rearranging bookshelves 

There is something so satisfying about rearranging your bookshelves – well, seeing the end result, anyway. It can be quite stressful trying to figure out how the hell you managed to fit all of those books on that shelf before you took them off. Or, working out how to rearrange them – colour? Size? Author? Series?
But still, it’s one of my favourite things to do when I’m bored.

Bookshops

No matter how much time I have to spare, if there is a bookshop in the near vicinity, I HAVE TO GO TO IT. Waterstones calls to me and I can’t deny the bookshop. I love just perusing the shelves and pulling out books at random. And, more often than not, I end up leaving with a new book and a slightly lighter purse. This is why I have no money.

Libraries

I love libraries. I love how peaceful and quiet they are, and how you can just settle down in a comfy chair to read or finally work on the growing pile of college work you have. I did work experience in my local library a few years ago and it was a lovely experience. It was a very relaxing place, and it was great to recommend some great reads to people, and to get some great recommendations from others!

 Cover/ title reveals

Finding out that one of your favourite authors has a new book coming out is one of the most exciting things in this world. And so is reading the synopsis of a new book from a debut author or author you haven’t read yet and knowing that you have to read their book. But there is something about the build up to a cover – or title – reveal that is so…enchanting? I love how fans come together to talk about their excitement and predictions of what the title will be, or how beautiful the cover will look. It’s one of the best things.

Book to movie adaptations

Finding out that a book you love is going to be adapted for TV or film is simultaneously extremely exciting, and extremely terrifying. But when done well, it is a beautiful thing. Suddenly, you are able to experience all the awesome-ness of the book whenever you want, in a shorter time – though of course the book is always better. 😀

Rereading favourite books

The first time you read a book, grow to love the world and characters within, and realise that this book is going to be a new favourite (or even THE favourite), is something really special. It’s a feeling like no other. And,  although this feeling isn’t the same the second time reading the book, it is still something magical. If only we could reread our favourite books as if for the first time again! And it’s surprising how much more you notice the second time around!

These are just ten of my bookish delights, but there are so many more! What are some of yours?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookworm Delights!

    1. I get so nervous and awkward – I either talk too fast trying to get my words out, or I just freeze and smile haha. It’s so great to meet them though! 🙂

      Like

  1. I agree with basically all of these haha! I love meeting other bookish people. 🙂 The only author I love who I’ve met is Michael Morpurgo and that was about 10 years ago! I’m hoping to meet him again in the summer, though!

    I love libraries too. It’s my and my boyfriend’s special place – the scifi section at least. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gaaaah. I’ve not yet had the opportunity to meet a favorite author–I imagine, if/when I ever get the chance, there’ll be a lot of stuttering and red-faced shyness and…they’ll probably wind up thinking I’m a huge freak, but hey, the experience is worth it right?!

    Awesome post this week! Here’s my TTT, if you’d like to check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

