Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up On A Whim

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week they suggest a new theme with a list for bloggers to choose from. This week was books I picked up on a whim.

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave

The 5th Wave was one of – or maybe even the first – sci-fi book I ever read, and very quickly became a favourite and drew me into the genre, and I am so glad I made that split second decision to pick it up!

Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall

I’d actually heard a lot about Angelfall before picking it up, but it was never very high on my TBR. This was until I decided to order it on Book Depository, just because, and I regret my decisions in not reading it sooner!

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

This was a book that I picked up without knowing anything about last year, and was blown away by how beautifully it was written, how heartbreaking and unique it was.

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Sweet Evil

Sweet Evil was a book that I downloaded on my Kindle with  the last of my Amazon gift card money, and it was completely worth it!

Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Never Never

This, I downloaded through iBooks one afternoon when on a free period at college. It was a great distraction from the homework I probably should have been doing.

The Dolls by Kiki Sullivan

The Dolls.jpg

Ok. I’ll admit that I bought this book purely based on its cover (I mean, LOOK AT IT. And it had sprayed, SPARKLY pages!), and, although I didn’t love it,  it looks amazing on my shelf and I’m interested in where the story goes so I’ll probably pick up book 2 at some point!

At the Sign of the Sugared Plum by Mary Hooper

At The Sign of the Sugared Plum

I think I was given this book by my school, in year 7, though I completely forgot about it until about two or three years later, when I re-found it and decided to read the first page (and then finished the whole book in a couple hours).

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars

I knew hardly anything about this book prior to picking it up – and, to be honest, I wasn’t really that interested in reading it. But then one day I had a change of heart while out shopping and immediately went and bought it (it turned out to be amazing).

Everblue by Brenda Pandos

Everblue

This was another Kindle download when (I think) the book was free and I was in search of a new book (those were the days, when I didn’t have a TBR for miles).

 Hidden Wings by Cameo Renae

Hidden Wings

I remember buying Hidden Wings on my Kindle one summer a few years ago – I knew practically nothing about it, and hadn’t heard of it before, but I really enjoyed it!

What are some of the books you guys picked up on a whim?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up On A Whim

    • It’s a very good book, but if I remember rightly, the second one was a bit confusing. Still one of my favourite series though! I hope you like it if you decide to read it! 🙂
      Thanks, I’ll go check out your TTT post now! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

