Top Ten Tuesday: Books I (am) Read(ing) for School

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they suggest a new theme with a list for bloggers to choose from. This week, the theme was Back to School, and I chose to tell you guys about the books I read for school, and the books I am reading/ going to read for college.

But firstly, can we talk about how fast the summer holidays went? I go back to college next Thursday – I’m not ready for that! I haven’t even started any of the homework I was given yet. I’m such a procrastinator.

Okay, so:

The books I have read in school up to now:

Of Mice and Men

Of Mice and Men

If you’ve been through Secondary school, chances are you’ve read this book. And you probably got spoiled on the ending – it was written on the inside cover of the copy I read.

Dracula

Okay, so I should specify that I didn’t read the actual book – just the shortened play script of Dracula – but anyhow, I remember liking the story and wanting to go on the read the whole thing (which I still need to do). And I remember having to write a guide on how to kill a vampire after we’d finished reading it (??).

Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre

I read Jane Eyre last year for college, and I think this is one of the only books I read for English that I really didn’t enjoy (at least after the 100 or so page mark, for whatever reason), which is a pity since I still have to keep annotating and re reading in preparation for the exam next year. I think a big reason why I didnt enjoy this as much was because of the amount annotating and analysing that went into it – it being a longer book, it took a lot of time and I just got so bored. Maybe if I re read in a few years when I don’t have to analyse it so much I’ll like it more.

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Who's Afraid

I also read this play for college last year, and loved doing so because it was so short and didnt take as long to read and annotate as Jane Eyre did. I’m so lazy.

Books I will be reading in the next year:

Othello

Othello

Northanger Abbey

Northanger Abbey

Frankenstein

Frankenstein

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I (am) Read(ing) for School

Leave a Reply

