ARC Reviews · Blog Tours · Reviews

Blog Tour & Review: The Girls Are All So Nice Here

Title: The Girls Are All So Nice HereAuthor: Laurie Elizabeth FlynnPages: 400Published by: HQRelease date: 1st April 2021Synopsis: Two former best friends return to their college reunion to find that they’re being circled by someone who wants revenge for what they did ten years before—and will stop at nothing to get it—in this shocking psychological thriller about ambition, toxic friendship,… Continue reading Blog Tour & Review: The Girls Are All So Nice Here

Reviews

Review: The Dragon Republic

Title: The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War #2)Author: R.F. KuangPages: 658Published by: Harper VoyagerRelease date: 8th August 2019Synopsis:The searing follow-up to 2018’s most celebrated fantasy debut – THE POPPY WAR. In the aftermath of the Third Poppy War, shaman and warrior Rin is on the run: haunted by the atrocity she committed to end the war, addicted to opium, and… Continue reading Review: The Dragon Republic

ARC Reviews · Reviews

ARC Review: These Violent Delights

Title: These Violent DelightsAuthor: Chloe GongPages: 464Published by: Hodder & StoughtonRelease date: 17th November 2020Synopsis:Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River. The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery.… Continue reading ARC Review: These Violent Delights

ARC Reviews · Reviews

ARC Review: Kingdom of the Wicked

Title: Kingdom of the Wicked Author: Kerri ManiscalcoPages: 384Published by: Hodder & StoughtonRelease date: 27th October 2020Synopsis:Two sisters. One brutal murder. A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself . . . A new series from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Stalking Jack the Ripper.Emilia and her twin sister Vittoria are streghe - witches who live secretly among humans,… Continue reading ARC Review: Kingdom of the Wicked

ARC Reviews · Reviews

ARC Review: A Deadly Education

Title: A Deadly EducationAuthor: Naomi NovikPages: 336Published by: CornerstoneRelease date: 29th September 2020Synopsis:Enter a school of magic unlike any you have ever encountered.There are no teachers, no holidays, friendships are purely strategic, and the odds of survival are never equal.Once you’re inside, there are only two ways out: you graduate or you die.El Higgins is uniquely prepared for the school’s… Continue reading ARC Review: A Deadly Education

Reviews

Review: The Poppy War

Title: The Poppy WarAuthor: R.F. KuangPages: 531Published by: Harper VoyagerRelease date: 1st May 2018Synopsis:When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d… Continue reading Review: The Poppy War

Reviews

Review: Flame in the Mist

Title: Flame in the Mist Author: Renée Ahdieh Pages: 416 Published by: Hodder & Stoughton Release date: 16th May 2017 Synopsis: The daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has long known her place—she may be an accomplished alchemist, whose cunning rivals that of her brother Kenshin, but because she is not a boy, her future has always been… Continue reading Review: Flame in the Mist

Reviews

Review: Descendant of the Crane

Title: Descendant of the Crane Author: Joan He Pages: 416 Published by: Albert Whitman & Company Release date: 9th April 2019 Synopsis: Tyrants cut out hearts. Rulers sacrifice their own. Princess Hesina of Yan has always been eager to shirk the responsibilities of the crown, but when her beloved father is murdered, she’s thrust into power, suddenly the… Continue reading Review: Descendant of the Crane

ARC Reviews · Reviews

ARC Review: Mooncakes

Title: Mooncakes Author: Suzanne Walker, Wendy Xu (Artist) Pages: 256 Published by: Lion Forge Release date: 15th October 2019 Synopsis: A story of love and demons, family and witchcraft. Nova Huang knows more about magic than your average teen witch. She works at her grandmothers' bookshop, where she helps them loan out spell books and investigate any… Continue reading ARC Review: Mooncakes